Neurosurgery and Gamma Knife

The Neurosurgery and Gamma Knife Unit at Ospedale San Raffaele is a center of excellence on diagnosis and therapy of all surgical pathologies of central and peripheral nervous system. It is national reference centre for the therapy of the pituitary and skull base tumours (meningiomas, chordomas, craniopharingiomas, etc.) through microsurgery and stereotactic radiosurgery with Gamma Knife.

A multidisciplinary approach with interdisciplinary team composed by neurosurgeons, neuroradiologists, neuroftalmologists, maxilo-facial surgeons and radiotherapists is foster to offer up-to-date treatment tailored on each patient.

Main conditions treated

The Unit treats some 2100 patients per year with all cranial and spinal neurosurgical pathologies (oncological, vascular and traumatic). In addition, some 600 Gamma Knife treatments are performed yearly.

Most frequent treated pathologies are:

  • benign cerebral tumours and, specifically, pituitary adenomas, meningiomas and craniopharingiomas
  • malignant cerebral tumours, with predominance of gliomas and metastasis
  • aneurysms and vascular deformity
  • other degenerative pathologies of the spinal column


Main fields of interest of the Experimental Neurosurgery Unit at Ospedale San Raffaele are: pre-clinical studies on olfactory cell transplantation in spinal cord injuries and pre-clinical studies on use of collagen scaffold in spinal cord and peripheral nerves injuries.


The Unit is equipped with up-to-date technologies as:

  • Endoscopy bi-dimensional and tri-dimensional
  • Endovascular surgery
  • Gamma knife radiosurgery
  • Hydro dissection
  • Intraoperative echography
  • Intraoperative Brain Mapping
  • Intraoperative Neurophysiology
  • Neuronavigation
  • Microsurgical instruments for skull-base surgery
  • Minimally invasive spine surgery
  • Port-minimally invasive brain surgery
  • Stereotaxis
  • Intraoperative imaging and robotic surgery


Permanent members of the staff are: Professor Pietro Mortini, Chairman, and M.D., Dr. Acerno, Dr. Barzaghi , Dr. Boari, Dr. Ferrari, Dr. Franzin, Dr. Gagliardi, Dr. Gioia, Dr. Losa, Dr. Mandelli, Dr. Medone, Dr. Rocca, Dr. Snider and Dr. Valle. Mrs D’Ovidio, Chief Nurse.