Haematology and Bone Marrow Transplantation (BMT)


The Haematology and Bone Marrow Transplantation (BMT) Unit at San Raffaele Hospital in Milan follows the mission to improve life of patients affected by hematological disorders. The Unit is one of the largest Italian bone marrow transplantation units.

It is ISO-9001 and Jacie-EBMT accredited with more than 200 bone marrow transplantations performed yearly. The Unit is strictly linked with the scientific research park and the medical school. The tight connection between hospital, university and research offers cutting edge clinical programs, including more than 60 clinical trials in hematological malignancies. The Unit is active in international cooperation including activities in Syria, Qatar, Uganda and Venezuela and hosts foreign patients undergoing transplantation and other advanced therapies.

Main conditions treated

  • Acute leukemias
  • Myelodisplastic syndromes
  • Multiple myeloma
  • Chronic leukemias
  • Myeloproliferative disorders
  • Lymphomas
  • Thalassemic syndromes


There are more than 60 interventional clinical trials in oncohematology actively running in the Unit. Special areas of interest in translational research are: high risk hematological malignancies, stem cell transplantation, cell and gene therapy. Cell and gene therapy trials include treatment of beta thalassemia, immune-deficiencies (Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome and adenosine deaminase deficiency), neurodegenerative disorders (metachromatic leukodystrophy), neuromuscolar disorders (Duchenne’s Muscle Dystrophy) and neuroinflammatory diseases (Multiple Sclerosis, Neuromyelitis optica).


Dr. Fabio Ciceri is Head Haematology and BMT Unit. Dr. Massimo Bernardi, consultant Haematology Inpatient Unit; Dr. Consuelo Corti, consultant Haematology Outpatient Department; Dr. Jacopo Peccatori, consultant BMT Unit.

Staff haematologist: Dr. Andrea Assanelli, Dr. Matteo Carrabba, Dr. Fabio Giglio, Dr. Elena Guggiari, Dr. Francesca Lunghi, Dr. Maria Teresa Lupo-Stanghellini, Dr. Magda Marcatti and Dr. Sarah Marktel.