Cardiac Arrhythmology

The Arrhythmology Unit is devoted to a comprehensive treatment of the cardiac arrhythmias.

A highly experienced staff and the most innovative techniques are available for the patients during the hospitalization, in the electrophysiology Lab and finally in the outpatient clinic. The medical conditions are evaluated by the team with the aim of providing the best and most effective treatment. The Arrhythmology Unit is considered as a national referral center and one of the worldwide best Labs for the treatment of complex arrhtyhmias, such as ventricular tachycardias and ventricular fibrillation; it is also an international referral for the training of new physicians.

Main conditions treated

  • Ventricular tachycardia / Ventricular fibrillation
  • Premature ventricular beats
  • Atrial fibrillation
  • Atrial tachycardias
  • Supraventricular tachycardias
  • Wolf-Parkinson-White syndrome
  • Pacemaker, implantable cardiac defibrillators
  • Cardiac resynchronization therapy
  • Left atrial appendage occlusion


The Arrhythmology Unit has the mission of developing new ablation techniques for the treatment of complex arrhythmias, such as atrial fibrillation and ventricular tachycardia. We collaborate with several European, US and Asian institutions in multicenter studies aimed at the evaluation of the efficacy of new treatment options in critically ill patients. We are the coordinating center of clinical trials on Ventricular Arrhythmias

PARTITA Study:; Principal Investigators: Dr. Paolo Della Bella, Dr. Pasquale Vergara


Three dedicated Electrophysiology Labs are equipped the best available technologies. Several 3D mapping systems (CARTO, NavX, Rhythmia) are available in the labs. After the implantation of a cardiac device, patients can be monitored at home by the dedicated staff of the Remote control Service.


The Director of the Arrhythmology Unit is Dr. Paolo Della Bella. The staff includes 13 permanent physicians members and 6 arrhythmology fellows. Physicians: Francesca Baratto, Caterina Bisceglia, Manuela Cireddu, Simone Gulletta, Giuseppe Maccabelli, Alessandra Marzi, Patrizio Mazzone, Gabriele Paglino, Andrea Radinovic, Simone Sala, Nicoletta Sora, Nicola Trevisi and Pasquale Vergara.